1 Thessalonians 5:11
11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

I had a really neat experience yesterday. I saw a friend, someone who I’d looked up to, and still do, someone who influences me even to this day. I worked with this gentleman when I was in high school. He’s ten years older than me or so, but I respected him tremendously.

He is now one of the best in his profession in the nation. I hadn’t seen him in 26 years, but we’d had some text or Facebook messenger conversations through the years, but I hadn’t seen him.

The reason for that story, yes it had a point, was that when I worked with him, he held me accountable and encouraged me. He is one of the people who taught me the value of striving for perfection.

I told him yesterday in person that without him, the teams that I’ve coached would not have had our success on the basketball court and he has nothing to do with basketball.

He encouraged me and built me up. My hope for anyone reading this is that others say that about us.

Make it a great day in the trenches. Be exceptional at being you.

Love,

Yancey