Amos 7:14-15
14 Amos answered Amaziah, “I was neither a prophet nor the son of a prophet, but I was a shepherd, and I also took care of sycamore-fig trees. 15 But the Lord took me from tending the flock and said to me, ‘Go, prophesy to my people Israel.’

A lot of different directions this verse could go.

First, we need to do our jobs with what is in front of us. He took care of the sheep and the fig trees because that was his task at hand.

From there, be ready for what’s next. Could be a different job, could be a change in life at home, could be a lot of different things. Stay ready.

Another way to stay ready is if or when we might encounter someone and have a conversation about our faith or being saved or any other topic about Jesus. If we have an answer to another person’s question, then we might be what keeps them or gets them to the faith. Be prepared.

Stay ready so we don’t have to get ready.

Make it a great day in the trenches. Be exceptional at being you.

Love,

Yancey