“Jesus spoke plainly about our idle words, yet his warning often goes unheeded. Jesus said that for every idle word there will be a time of accounting in the day of judgment. We would expect Jesus to condemn profane and vile uses of the tongue, but idle words? Idle words are things we say carelessly, without concern for their impact on others. We too quickly assume that the sins of our tongue are minor sins, sins that God will overlook. Yet Jesus was fully aware of the devastating nature of our words.” Quotes by Henry and Richard Blackaby

Something I am truly convicted of lately is the use of my words.  This is a very trying time, where most people we encounter in a day are extremely on edge.  Why would this be something I should take personal?  Why am I not doing a better of job of reaching out to people and nourishing them with my words? Or even more to the point, why am I not doing a better job of building people up in Christ right here in my own home? How many of us actually speak death over our own lives? I am not good enough, smart enough, young enough, I will never be this or that.

The lips of the righteous nourish many, but fools die for lack of sense.
Proverbs 10:21 NIV

This is an amazing opportunity for us as men in the trenches to show people Jesus.  That being calm, cool and collected is what He is.  That when we are led by the spirit, we speak life giving words and encouragement!

I’m challenging all of us today to speak life into ourselves and others through the spirit!

With love, dlp

M.I.T.T.