Thursday Night Shadrach’s

Good morning, men!

First of all, if my middle child looks like he’s crazy….y’all just have to know Jase and excuse him! Lately, between work, baseball season starting, church, school, travel, and medical appointments, life has been a blur. Yesterday my wife sent me an article about busyness and how being constantly on our phones affects our children. I am so thankful for a wife that is willing to check me/ us in ways we can do better with our kids.

Psalm 127:2 says:

It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.

The Word is littered with references to slowing down, resting, and relaxing. Yet, we fill our schedules to the brim. I am just as guilty as most.

Last night, we hit the pause button, took the kids to our local coffee shop, got a cup, and sat and talked as a family for an hour. I heard about Jase’s play at school, Derek’s worry about baseball season, and Sarah’s obsession with weather. Pippa isn’t saying much yet, but she looked cute!😂

Did it put us “behind” our normal nightly schedule? Yep. Could we have been practicing a sport, or attending a social event? Sure. One of the greatest lessons I have learned since we came to Paragould and The Crossing Church in 2014 has been the value of slowing down.

Have a blessed weekend and find time for REST this weekend!

M.I.T.T. ~ Runyan