So the trials continue at the Miller household and for some of my brothers on this message. I have no clear opportunities in my search for another pharmaceutical sales job, and just a few days ago I got hit with a nasty cold/cough virus that just won’t go away. I also know of others looking for work, praying about providing for their families, and other men who have loved ones seriously suffering & ailing. Again, if we fix our eyes on our circumstances and things we can’t control it could easily overwhelm us. Which brings me to a key question I received last week from a dear brother: what does faith & courage from the Lord look like to me in the middle of the storm? It reminded me that my strength and joy comes not from my circumstances, or my faith but the object of my faith: The Lord and His faithfulness. As men who are redeemed by Christ, we still struggle in this broken world: with sin, with unfulfilled desires, with pain from those we love hurting and dying. Despite all of this God is faithful. He is righteous, holy, sovereign, and true. He knows what is best and does what is best for His glory and our good.

In the middle of the storms of life, the trials that shake me, the only thing that is going to get me through this is experiencing the presence of the Lord.

Reading through Psalms is where I really experience the Lord in these times, as I see King David being brutally honest with God. He comes before God as a broken and sinful man (Bathsheba), processes his fears, frustrations, and emotions yet at the end He is praising God. We can take heart that God called David a man after his own heart. (Acts 13:22: After removing Saul, He raised up David as their king and testified about him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse a man after My own heart; he will carry out My will in its entirety.’ )

Please take heart from these passages below:

Psalms 73:21-28 (ESV)
23Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand.
24You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will receive me to glory.
25Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.
26My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strengthb of my heart and my portion forever.
27For behold, those who are far from you shall perish; you put an end to everyone who is unfaithful to you.
28But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord GOD my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.

Hebrews 11:6 (ESV): 6 And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (ESV): 16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.