I hope everyone is having a great week leading up to Easter. Today is Maundy Thursday, and we remember the Last Supper Jesus shared with the disciples.

This week I have been reading all the different accounts of the disciples as they recorded the events leading up to Jesus’ crucifixion.  It’s hard for me to at times, because the punishment Jesus took was so unnecessary and exaggerated, so I get very defensive toward the people.  But, then I realize I am one of the people, and that Jesus still wanted to fulfill Gods will, the prophecies and make this sacrifice for me.

Here are a few examples I cannot get out of my mind:

1. Then the Jewish leaders took Jesus from Caiaphas to the palace of the Roman governor. By now it was early morning, and to avoid ceremonial uncleanness they did not enter the palace, because they wanted to be able to eat the Passover.
John 18:28 NIV
This has been heavy on my heart all week.  These men cannot enter the home of Pilate (a gentile) because due to their rituals they would now be deemed “unclean” and would not get to celebrate passover.  They are harboring anger, jealousy,  envy and murder in their hearts; they also, are making up lies so that Jesus will be crucified yet their religion or ritual says they would be unclean if they entered the home of a gentile!? The God they should be worshiping and desiring is the one in front of them they are trying to murder.

2. Pilate is the best example of what it looks like to not reject passivity as a man and leader. In the verses below you will see him “wash his hands of this innocent man’s blood”, only want to “satisfy the crowd”, not listen to his wife’s commands and become friends with an enemy because he sent Jesus to Herod (who had heard of Jesus and only wanted to see the man who worked miracles perform one for him). I understand Pilote is a gentile, he has no dog in this fight. But, I use to think that Pilate did what he could,  I now see him through a different lens. He had a choice just like you and me!

When Pilate saw that he was getting nowhere, but that instead an uproar was starting, he took  water and washed his hands in front of the crowd . “I am innocent of this man’s blood,” he said. “It is your responsibility!”
Matthew 27:24 NIV

Wanting to satisfy the crowd, Pilate released Barabbas to them. He had Jesus flogged, and handed him over to be crucified.
Mark 15:15 NIV

While Pilate was sitting on the judge’s seat, his wife sent him this message: “Don’t have anything to do with that innocent man, for I have suffered a great deal today in a dream because of him.”
Matthew 27:19 NIV
https://bible.com/bible/111/mat.27.19.NIV

That day Herod and Pilate became friends—before this they had been enemies.
Luke 23:12 NIV
https://bible.com/bible/111/luk.23.12.NIV

Have a an amazing Easter. Remember, Jesus rises from the dead! This story has the best happy ending ever,  and it’s important and impacts each of us!

With love dlp

M.I.T.T.