Good morning, men!

I have posted here throughout the spring about our baseball season with my oldest son, Derek. This was the team named Pip’s Yankees after my dad who passed last fall. The season was all over the map. We had great games with awesome progress and horrible blowout losses where I felt like the worst coach in the world. Our last loss was 14-0 and I was headed to New Jersey the next week…..it looked like I would miss the final game of the year.

Well, while I was in NJ the boys got rained out and we got rescheduled for tonight. I was home and would get to see the boys one more time. To add some icing on the cake, Derek made a diving back handed catch to seal the game in bottom of the 6th.

Outside of being a proud dad, I was just amazed at the tip of the cap the good Lord gave me throughout this process. The rainout allowed me to coach the last game and our boys played well….my kid made a great play to finish the year….one of my most difficult players hugged me after the game and told me he was so glad I got to come back and be at the game….the player from the other team that we gave our “Phil 4:13” game ball to got a huge hug from his dad who said, “That’s my boy!”

I have posted here before that I believe that if we follow God, he will leave small breadcrumbs along the path that are His way of saying, “I know you can’t see me, but I am with you always.”

Isaiah 41:10 says:

fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Tonight I felt that hand guiding me through the experience with those boys and the wonderful game we were allowed to play. Trust in God’s plan and watch as he reminds you over and over that he is walking along side you!

Have a blessed day, men!

M.I.T.T. ~ Runyan