If there is one thing I should have learned in 36 years of my life, it is that I should really expect the unexpected. For some reason I have been able at times to embrace it, and others I’m not as thankful.  As humans, we think we have it all figured out.  We think this is this phase in my life, during the next one it will be this, and after I’ll be doing this.  But, no one ever said that a Christ follower would have a life without uncertainty.  I’m currently listening to the book on CD “In a Pit With a Lion On a Snowy Day”, and it disucussed this.

When you read the Bible you start to understand that usually when Christ is asked something, He responds opposite of how you might think He would.  As a follower of Christ you never know who you will meet, what you will be doing, or where you will be going.

If you think about it this way, wouldn’t it undermine the power of the Holy Spirit if we had our whole life plan mapped out and it happened exactly that way? What would we even need God for? Our circumstance would be perfect.  He points out in the book that our circumstantial uncertainty will not decrease by being a follower meaning being a Christian will not remove the hard times we will face. But, our spiritual uncertainty will reduce.  Meaning as Christ followers we now have the peace that transcends all understanding!

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”
‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:7‬ ‭NIV‬‬

There is a flip side to circumstantial uncertainty though that is anything may go wrong but, anything may go right too! Not everything that is unexpected has been a hindrance in my life. In fact, as I look back I can say without hesitation that I obviously don’t know what’s best for me near as much as God does! I thank Him so much for listening to my “shameless audacity” (Luke 11:8), yet always knowing that my wants are very separate from my needs! Thank you Lord.

We must not limit God. He is listening and the Holy Spirit is interceding, but when it comes to the actual answer to our prayers maybe we should start to expect the unexpected! And then embrace that it is He who plans our steps and not us!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭NIV‬‬

M.I.T.T.

dlp